Easter Reflections 2017


I began Easter by posting the following message to FaithInspires’ Facebook page, and to my Facebook and Twitter accounts.

” Today we celebrate the fact that Christ went to Calvary, also known as Golgotha (Hill of Skulls.) He went there to be executed in the most demeaning, inhumane way the Romans had at their disposal, crucifixion ! As the Son of God he could have avoided it all without an once of effort. Yet he willingly submitted to what was about to happen.

He did so for a very good reason. He did so so that EACH one of us could be freed from death, and from our sins. For only the Son of God could die for each person who lived, or would ever live.He was born, lived a sinless life only to spill his own blood for each person. To claim his victory and eternal life we need only to claim his sacrifice and believe in it.

What would seem like a sad tragic day is actually a happy one of great victory ! The cost of Easter has nothing to do with the price of candy. The price of Easter is beyond calculation and was paid for each of us on that far away hill, long ago. Happy Easter !”

 

After what seemed like a very successful Easter Sunday service I returned and posted this, about what I am sure will become a treasured Easter memory.

” I just got back from preaching Easter service at the nursing home. One of my regulars from among the residents got a rare treat, which played out in a way which blessed me mightily.

His daughter who lives out of town came to get him because the family had gathered locally for Easter. She actually apologized to me because with the preparations involved in getting him ready to go out etc. he was going to miss my service. She made a point of telling me how much she enjoyed my service and sermons when she was in town.

I actually got to speak for a moment with the resident as they were leaving. The man was practically in tears at missing my service and literally kissed my hand. I told him that he should go and enjoy his family because they are precious gifts from God.

I know many appreciate my ministry and preaching. But I was touched by the appreciation this man and his family made a point of showing me today. I wish more people understood how much a word or small gesture of appreciation means to those of us in pastoral ministry. Especially those of us who are bi-vocational. Sometimes a simple act such as this one is all that keeps us going when we want to just give up.

This frail, old nursing home resident, and his family gave me a gift of kindness today that will endure as one of my favorite Easter memories.”

 

It has for me been a mostly quiet Easter. I have had the opportunity to get some much needed rest and relaxation. However Christ and his sacrifice have been very much in my thoughts as they are most days. Having the opportunity to  contemplate what our savior did for us on Calvary is a blessing in itself.

About Rev. Robert A. Crutchfield

Bi-vocational minister who is Founder and Editor of FaithInspires.Org As seen in Google News, SelfGrowth.Com, ChristianHeadlines.com etc.

Posted on April 16, 2017, in Holidays, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It was not at all on this years Easterday that Christ Jesus went to Calvary, also known as Golgotha (Hill of Skulls.) He was taken up there on Thursday April the 6th of 30 CE.There he found death at the stake not a crucifixion that torture system not yet used by the Romans, but being a Renaissance pictorial representation.

    You say he as the Son of God could have avoided it all without an once of effort, but Jesus wanted to do the Will of God and not his own will. As such Jesus willingly submitted to what was about to happen and died. It is for his ransom offering, giving himself as a lamb of God that Jesus made him higher than angels and raised him up from the dead, as an example to what can happen to all of us if we are willing to believe in the one who God sent (the Messiah who is the way to God) and when we want to believe in the Only One god Who is One (and not three or more).

    On Sunday April 9 of the year 30 Jesus is risen, and if people want to remember that that is all right, but let them do that on the day Jesus was risen and not on a pagan holiday for the god of Spring.

    But real lovers of God should keep to the holy days given by God and as such should celebrate 14-22 Nisan, in 2017 starting with Monday the 10th of April.

Leave a Reply

